WAUG Games

What started as a friendly competition between the University of Ibadan, Nigeria and the University of Ghana, later metamorphosed into the West Africa University Game (WAUG) with the first WAUG Games held in 1965 in the University of Ibadan, Nigeria.

The WAUG Games are aimed at fostering greater friendship among youths of the West African sub-region in addition to providing an opportunity for West African Universities to contribute to the development of highly skilled elite athletes among their students as done by Universities all over the world.

At present, Fourteen (14) West Africa Countries are active members of WAUG, represented by about 60 Universities. Only Cape Verde, Gambia and Mauritania are not represented yet in WAUG. So, literarily the WAUG Games can be called the ECOWAS Students Games.

The Universities are grouped into eight (8) zones geographically according to the number of member Universities. WAUG therefore, rotates zones which will host the Games.

WAUG Games are organized every 4 years. The next main WAUG event will be hosted by the University of Abomey Calavi (Republic of Benin) in 2016. Mini WAUG games are also organized every 2 academic years in selected disciplines. The next Mini WAUG Games will be hosted by the University of Ouagadougou in December 2014 and will feature Hockey and Soccer.